Workshop on Algorithms in Bioinformatics (WABI) 2023, September 3-6

The Workshop on Algorithms in Bioinformatics (WABI), established in 2001, is one of the major annual conferences on algorithms in bioinformatics.


WABI is an international conference covering research in algorithmic work in bioinformatics, computational biology and systems biology. The emphasis is mainly on discrete algorithms and machine-learning methods that address important problems in molecular biology, that are founded on sound models, that are computationally efficient, and that provide evidence of their potential usefulness in practice, preferably by testing on appropriately chosen simulated or real datasets. The goal is to present recent research results, including significant work-in-progress, and to identify and explore directions of future research. This year it is colocated with ACM-BCB 2023.

Important dates

  • Paper submission deadline: May 4, 2023
  • Paper notification: June 8, 2023
  • Camera ready: June 20, 2023
  • Poster abstract submission deadline: June 23, 2023
  • Poster notification: June 30, 2023
  • Conference: September 3-6, 2023

Call for papers/posters

Paper submission

Submissions must be formatted in LaTeX using the LIPIcs style and must not exceed 15 pages excluding references. For details please see the information for authors. Each paper must contain a succinct statement of the issues and of their motivation, a summary of the main results, and a brief explanation of their significance, all accessible to non-specialist readers. All submissions must be made online, through the EasyChair submission system, at:


For scientific information, please contact one of the WABI program committee co-chairs, Aïda Ouangraoua (aida.ouangraoua[at]usherbrooke[dot]ca) or Djamal Belazzougui (dbelazzougui[at]cerist[dot]dz). For organizational information, please refer to the ACM-BCB 2023 website.

You will need to register on the EasyChair web site before submitting. A standard .pdf file must be received by May 4, 2023 (time zone of your choice) in order for your submission to be considered. Re-submission of already submitted papers will be possible until May 9, 2023 (time zone of your choice). Simultaneous submission to another conference with published proceedings is not permitted, but simultaneous submission to a journal is allowed, provided that the authors notify the program chairs; if published in a journal, such a contribution will be published as a short abstract in the WABI proceedings. Depositing in arxiv.org or biorxiv.org is allowed.

By submitting a paper the authors acknowledge that in case of acceptance at least one of the authors must register at ACM-BCB 2023, attend the conference, and present the paper.

Accepted papers will be published in WABI proceedings in the LIPIcs Leibniz International Proceedings in Informatics.

Selected papers will be invited for an extended publication in a thematic series in Algorithms for Molecular Biology (AMB).

Poster submission

WABI 2023 invites the submission of abstracts of your work for presentation in a poster session. The poster can describe existing published or "in press" research, or can describe new work. Submissions must contain an abstract (about 200 words, plain justified text in 10pt character size, formatted to fit A4: 21 x 29.7 cm, including title, author(s), affiliation, e-mail, a link to the published journal version (if any), and the identity of the presenter (in case of a multi-authored poster), followed by the abstract text. A standard .pdf file must be received by June 20, 2023 (time zone of your choice) in order for your submission to be considered. All submissions must be sent by email to: wabi2023@easychair.org

Program committee

The PC is co-chaired by Aïda Ouangraoua and Djamal Belazzougui.
  • Tatsuya Akutsu, Kyoto University, Japan
  • Jasmijn Baaijens, TU Delft, Netherlands
  • Djamal Belazzougui, CERIST, Algeria (co-chair)
  • Anne Bergeron, Université du Québec à Montréal, Canada
  • Paola Bonizzoni, Universita di Milano-Bicocca, Italy
  • Christina Boucher, University of Florida, USA
  • Marília Braga, Bielefeld University, Germany
  • Cédric Chauve, Simon Fraser University, Canada
  • Rayan Chikhi, CNRS & Institut Pasteur, France
  • Daniel Doerr, University of Duesseldorf, Germany
  • Mohammed El-Kebir, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
  • Nadia El-Mabrouk, University of Montreal, Canada
  • Anna Gambin, Warsaw University, Poland
  • Bjarni Halldorsson, deCODE genetics and Reykjavik University, Iceland
  • Katharina Huber, University of East Anglia, UK
  • Gregory Kucherov, University of Paris Est, France
  • Manuel Lafond, Université de Sherbrooke, Canada
  • Elodie Laine, Sorbonne Université, France
  • Veli Makinen, University of Helsinki, Finland
  • Erin Molloy, University of Maryland College Park, USA
  • Vincent Moulton, University of East Anglia, UK
  • Francesca Nadalin, EMBL-EBI / ITT, Italy, England
  • Gonzalo Navarro, University of Chile, Chile
  • Aïda Ouangraoua, Université de Sherbrooke, Canada (co-chair)
  • Yann Ponty, CNRS & École poly technique, France
  • Teresa Przytycka, NCBI, NIH, USA
  • Nadia Pisanti, University of Pisa, Italy
  • Solon Pissis, CWI Amsterdam, the Netherlands
  • Alberto Policriti, University of Udine, Italy
  • Sven Rahmann, Saarland University, Germany
  • Knut Reinert, FU Berlin, Germany
  • Eric Rivals, LIRMM & Université de Montpellier, France
  • Giovanna Rosone, University of Pisa, Italy
  • Mikaël Salson, Université de Lille, France
  • Alexander Schoenhuth, Bielefeld University, Germany
  • Mingfu Shao, Penn State, US
  • Blerina Sinaimeri, Université Lyon I & INRIA, France
  • Krister Swenson, CNRS & Universite de Montpellier, France
  • Sharma Thankachan, University of Central Florida, USA
  • Alexandru Tomescu, University of Helsinki, Finland
  • Hélène Touzet, CNRS & Université de Lille, France
  • Gianluca Della Vedova, University of Milano-Bicocca, Italy
  • Tomas Vinar, Comenius University, Slovakia
  • Jérôme Waldispühl, McGill University, Canada
  • Tandy Warnow, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
  • Prudence W.H.Wong, University of Liverpool, UK
  • Michal Ziv-Ukelson, Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Israel
  • Louxin Zhang, National University of Singapore, Singapore

Steering committee