Eight-segment panorama of Chicago, Illinois, as viewed from North Avenue Beach

Keynote Speakers:

Dr. Tiffani J. Bright

Dr. Tiffani J. Bright is a nationally recognized leader in applied clinical informatics, with expertise in the design, implementation, and evaluation of clinical decision support systems, electronic guideline-delivery platforms, and optimization of electronic health records. Dr. Bright’s research interests combine her data science training and skills with her expertise in diversity, equity, and inclusion to bring inclusivity in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM), emphasizing workforce diversity, data diversity, and algorithmic fairness. She serves as Chair of the American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA) Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee, an elected member of the AMIA Board of the Directors, and a member of the Women in AMIA Steering Committee. Dr. Bright has received numerous honors and awards, including a University of Maryland Baltimore County (UMBC) Meyerhoff Scholarship, National Library of Medicine Informatics Predoctoral Fellowship, a blackcomputeHER Fellowship, elected Fellow of the American College of Medical Informatics, and the 2021 AMIA Leadership Award. She received her BA degree in sociology from The College of William and Mary, BS degree in information systems from UMBC, PhD degree in biomedical informatics from Columbia University, and completed her postdoctoral fellowship in the Division of Clinical Informatics at Duke University. Dr. Bright is the first Black woman to earn a doctorate in biomedical informatics within the United States and the first Black student to earn a doctorate in this field from Columbia University.

Dr. Kelvin Droegemeier

Dr. Kelvin Droegemeier is Regents’ Professor of Meteorology, Weathernews Chair Emeritus, and Teigen Presidential Professor at the University of Oklahoma, where he served for nearly a decade as Vice President for Research. He has been at OU for 37 years and co-founded and directed one of NSF’s first Science and Technology Centers. He served two 6-year terms on the National Science Board, the last four years as Vice Chairman. He also served for two years as Oklahoma Cabinet Secretary of Science and Technology. Most recently, Dr. Droegemeier served for two years as Director of The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) and Science Advisor to the President. For two and a half months during this time, he also served as Acting Director of the National Science Foundation. His research involves numerical simulation and prediction of high-impact local weather, and the assimilation of data into storm-resolving models. He is a Fellow of the American Meteorological Society and the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and has published more than 80 referred journal articles and over 200 conference publications.

Dr. Wendy Nilsen

Wendy Nilsen, Ph.D. is the Deputy Division Director in the Information and Intelligent Systems Division of the Computer and Information Science and Engineering Directorate at NSF. Previously, she was the lead Program Director in the Smart Health program. Her work has focused on the intersection of computing and human functioning. Her interests span the areas of sensing, cyber-physical systems, machine learning, artificial intelligence and robotics. She also serves as numerous federal technology initiatives. Prior to joining NSF, Wendy was at the National Institutes of Health.

Important Dates
Call for Submission Deadline Notification of Acceptance
Papers May 22 June 22
Workshops April 15 May 02
Tutorials May 01 May 09
Highlights May 31 June 20
Posters May 14 May 27


Add information for authors

June 24, 2022

Add CNB-MAC workshop

May 20, 2022

Extended submission deadline

May 15, 2022

Updated Call for highlights

Apr 25, 2022

Updated Call for posters

Apr 12, 2022

Updated Call for tutorial

Mar 28, 2022

Added sponsorship benefits

Mar 14, 2022

Updated Call for workshop

Feb 28, 2022

Website launched with CFP

Jan 11, 2022